Silver Beavers

The Silver Beaver Award was introduced in 1931 and is a council‐level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. Recipients of this award are registered Scouters who have made an impact on the lives of youth through extraordinary service to the council.

To recognize registered Scouters of exceptional character who have provided distinguished service within a council.

How To Get the Award
Anyone may nominate any deserving registered Scouter to the council, which selects recipients for the following year.

Silver Beaver Award Recipients

2021 Marvin Belcher | Erik Zandvliet

2020 Stephen Haas | Sandy Van Wyk

2019 Jerry Mackey | Aimee McCarty | John Watts

2018 Johnny Bradford | Glenn Draper | Dave Simon

2017 Al Butler | Richard Dempsey | Gabriela Leon-Martinez | Mat Talag

2016 Charlie Anderson | John Giese | Janelyn Martin | Jerry Smith

2015 Abelino Flores | Dennis Goble | Greg White | Blake Whitney

2014 Kenny Cruz | Howard Ito | David Mitchell | Roland Spongberg

2013 Tom Ahlstrom | Keith Devereaux | Richard Feinberg | Steve Richard | Teri Sandburg


Silver Beaver Society

The mission of the Long Beach Area Council Silver Beaver Society is to utilize the experience of Silver Beavers to provide leadership to the mission of the BSA and to continue our tradition of distinguished service to youth. All past and present Silver Beaver recipients of the Long Beach Area Council are eligible for membership. We are proud to recognize the following Silver Antelope and Silver Beaver recipients.

Silver Antelope Awards 

2010 Joseph E. Porter III

2004 Jim Hankla 

2000 Stephen T. Conley 

1966 Dr. Don C. Markham 

1945 Philip N. McCaughan