Iron Star

Iron Star Dinner Photos:

Iron Star District Dinner

District Award of Merit

Nomination Form

The District Award of Merit is awarded by a District to volunteers for service to youth in the District. It is the highest award given to a Scouter at the District level.  The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts in the same manner that the Silver Beaver is a national award presented by councils. Link to District Award of Merit page: District award of Merit 

Unit Award of Appreciation 

Nomination Form

The Unit Award of appreciation is presented to a Scouter or parent who has given exceptional service to his or her pack, troop, or crew.

Journey to Excellence

journey to excellence score sheets

Journey to Excellence is the Boy Scouts of America program to help Packs, Troops, Crews, Ships and Posts to plan, monitor, and evaluate their performance and their ability to serve youth.   There are specific criteria for the unit to plan and accomplish. These standards are reviewed each year and revised standards are published. A great unit is balanced in the service that it provides to youth.

We regard the various colors as meaning:

Bronze – Effective
Silver – Excellent
Gold – Exceptional

About Us:

Meet your District Committee Key 3

District ChairDistrict CommissionerDistrict Director
Chris ShararianDennis GobleVictor Zuniga

Follow Iron Star on Facebook

District Roundtable: second Thursday via Zoom
District Service Team meetings: TBD
District Committee meetings: 4th Tuesday of the Month, Scout Office
Eagle Boards of Review: Contact Matt Warner via email

A district is a geographical area of the council determined by the council executive board to help ensure the growth and success of Scouting units within the district’s territory. The district committee, along with a professional advisor called the district executive, is responsible for administering the program, ensuring its financial success, making connections in the community, shepherding established Scouting units, and adhering to national standards, goals, and objectives. 

Members Present at the First Iron Star Meeting in 2020

  • Marvin Belcher
  • Bob Colley
  • Christopher Espinoza
  • Jon Gotz
  • Howard Ito
  • Lindsay Kronberger
  • Joe Lopez
  • Lisa McPherson
  • Rosa Talag
  • Greg White
  • Heide Xitco