Board of Directors

Sarah Tong Sangmeister becomes the first female leader to serve as Council president in 105 years!

Mrs. Sangmeister accepted the position making her the 56th Long Beach Area Council President and the first woman to hold this position in the Long Beach Area Council’s Scouting history.

Kicking off the 105th year in Long Beach, Boy Scouts Council installed Sarah Tong Sangmeister in January. Sarah Sangmeister is the first woman to serve as Council President since 1919. She leads a 30-member all volunteer board responsible for bylaws, financial oversight, strategic planning, strength of program and legal integrity during her 2-year term.

Sarah’s initiatives for her board include increasing membership for families with boys and girls wishing to find adventure and leadership opportunities in our community and provide exceptional and unique programming that focus on developing the potential of our youth. Outgoing Boy Scout Council
President, Albert Guerra, said “Sarah is the best person at the right time to lead us forward. I know she will take the Council and Scouting to the next level”. Sarah added, “I am passionate about Scouting and the opportunities the program provides to families. I am honored to lead this board and I look forward to growing Scouting in the greater Long Beach community”. Long Beach Area Council Scouting serves over 1,300 boys and girls between the ages of 5 and 20 in the greater Long Beach area. The Boy Scouts of America is one of the nation’s foremost youth programs of character development, outdoor adventures and community service. The Long Beach Area council was founded in Long Beach over 105 years ago. Programs include Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Sea Scouts, Exploring and ScoutReach. ScoutReach is
specifically designed for low-income families, and it is one of our largest growing programs in recent years.

Read Release Here

The executive board in each local council is its policy-making body. Voting members include between 25 and 50 regular council members, the chairmen of the committees of the executive board, the chairmen of the district committees, and up to two youth members. The Scout executive is a nonvoting member. 

Key 3 Leadership

Council President: Sarah Sangmeister

Council Commissioner: Steve Richard

Scout Executive/CEO: Marc Bonner*

Executive Officers

VP Properties: Vince Attardo

VP Program: Bob Colley

VP Marketing: Albert Guerra**

VP Membership: Kirsten Larsen

VP Admin: Chris Shararian

VP Fund Development: Lee Shoag

Treasurer: Katie Zinn

Printable PDF List Here

updated 1/24/2024

*paid staff
**council past president


Board Members 

Dick Bell**

Bob Blair

Ron Camero

Tom Dixon

Paul Groff

Ligaya Jakmakjian

Steve Keesal

Jeff Kellogg

Kirsten Larsen

Brian Moskovitz

Alec Murray

Sam Petralia

J.P. Shotwell

Nil Reyes

Christopher Van Horn

Eric Witten

Ex Officio Members

Johnny Bradford (Vice-Commodore)

Aaron Talag (Chief, OA)

Erik Zandvliet (Chair, Iron Star)

Grant Zandvliet (Archon, TC)